Saturday, June 18, 2011

Opportunity Knocks For Buildbase BMW Motorrad In Scotland

Press Release:

The Buildbase BMW Motorrad team are heading north of the border for the Knockhill round of the British Superbike Championship this weekend.

After their recent success at Thruxton ? two BSB-EVO wins and a Superstock 1000 victory ? the team are in high spirits. BSB-EVO racer Barry Burrell is now third in the class while Richard Cooper, the team?s Superstock 1000 rider, currently sits in fourth place in the championship.

With new camshafts machined and installed in the team?s two Superbikes, John Laverty and Ian Lowry?s BMW S 1000 RRs were the fastest bikes through the speed traps at Thruxton.

Stuart Hicken, team principal, said:

?We had a very good weekend at a very wet Thruxton, taking three race wins. Considering it?s currently raining at Knockhill and it?s predicted to be a wet weekend, our riders are feeling quite confident.

?Barry and Richard?s wins were a great boost for the team, while the improved power of the S 1000 RR Superbikes was welcomed by John and Ian, who had the fastest bikes at Thruxton.

“We learnt a great deal about the chassis setup and balance of the bikes at Thruxton and we can put that into practice at Knockhill.. We?ll be aiming for even more points and podium finishes at the only Scottish round of the Championship.?

Fans can now show their support for the team with a range of Buildbase BMW Motorrad fanwear available from Clinton Enterprises starting at just �10. Fanwear can be purchased at each round of the BSB Championship or ordered online here .

Free practice is held on Friday, qualifying starts on Saturday and the racing will be broadcast live on British Eurosport 2 on Sunday.

BSB-EVO championship standings

1) 145 pts – Alex Lowes

2) 125 pts – Glen Richards (WFR Honda)

3) 110 pts – Barry Burrell (Buildbase BMW Motorrad)

4) 103 pts – Patric Muff (Tyco Honda)

5) 94 pts – Simon Andrews (PR Racing Kawasaki)

Superstock 1000 championship standings

1) 81 pts – Danny Buchan (MSS Colchester Kawasaki)

2) 79 pts – Tristan Palmer (GBmoto Honda)

3) 61 pts – Jason O’Halloran (HM Plant Honda)

4) 59 pts – Richard Cooper (Buildbase BMW Motorrad)

5) 30 pts – Luke Quigley (Astro Racing BMW)

The Latest Motorcycle News

Doug Dubach Ryan Dungey Vic Eastwood Daryl Ecklund Erik Eggens

No comments:

Post a Comment