Monday, June 27, 2011

Marquez takes victory at wet Assen

Marc Marquez wrapped up the second win of his Moto2 career in wet conditions at Assen, and moved up to second in the championship in the process.

Series leader and polesitter Stefan Bradl crashed out near the end of the race, but remains 57 points ahead of Marquez in the standings.

Bradl (Kiefer Kalex) struggled from the outset in the wet race, steadily slipping down the order from pole and falling as low as 13th. He managed to get back up to eighth before sliding out at the chicane in the closing stages.

Simone Corsi, Bradley Smith and Marquez set the early pace, although as conditions improved slightly Corsi would begin to fade, eventually tumbling right back to 14th.

Kenan Sofuoglu then moved up to join Smith and Marquez’s lead battle, with Yuki Takahashi shadowing them. All of the first three took turns in front amid some very close racing on the greasy track.

Takahashi picked his way through to second, only to crash on lap 20 of 24. Marquez was leading at that stage, and the accident gave him a little breathing space, as he inched away to win by 2.3 seconds over Sofuoglu – the Technomag-CIP rider securing his first Moto2 podium. Smith fell back from Sofuoglu as he claimed a second straight top-three finish in third.

Anthony West showed his usual outstanding wet weather form to come through from 21st to fourth on the MZ, a short distance ahead of the battling Alex de Angelis and Mattia Pasini.

 Results - 24 laps:  Pos  Rider                 Team/Bike               Time/Gap  1.  Marc Marquez          Catalunya Suter       44m30.409s  2.  Kenan Sofuoglu        Technomag-CIP Suter     + 2.397s  3.  Bradley Smith         Tech 3                  + 6.418s  4.  Anthony West          MZ                     + 22.803s  5.  Alex de Angelis       JIR Motobi             + 25.882s  6.  Mattia Pasini         Ioda FTR               + 26.851s  7.  Esteve Rabat          Blusens-STX FTR        + 28.125s  8.  Thomas Luthi          Paddock Suter          + 28.712s  9.  Randy Krummenacher    Kiefer Kalex           + 29.744s 10.  Max Neukirchner       MZ                     + 39.767s 11.  Alex Baldolini        Forward Suter          + 47.158s 12.  Andrea Iannone        Speed Master Suter     + 50.846s 13.  Yonny Hernandez       Blusens-STX FTR        + 57.118s 14.  Simone Corsi          Ioda FTR             + 1m00.775s 15.  Claudio Corti         Italtrans Suter      + 1m06.310s 16.  Aleix Espargaro       Pons Kalex           + 1m06.764s 17.  Michele Pirro         Gresini Moriwaki     + 1m06.823s 18.  Dominique Aegerter    Technomag-CIP Suter  + 1m16.296s 19.  Ricard Cardus         QMMF Moriwaki        + 1m21.524s 20.  Carmelo Morales       G22 Moriwaki         + 1m22.289s 21.  Kev Coghlan           Castello FTR         + 1m38.161s 22.  Michael van der Mark  EAB Ten Kate         + 1m41.888s 23.  Javier Fores          Aspar Suter          + 1m42.189s 24.  Scott Redding         Marc VDS Suter           + 1 lap 25.  Mashel Al Naimi       QMMF Moriwaki            + 1 lap 26.  Robertino Pietri      Italtrans Suter          + 1 lap  Retirements:       Stefan Bradl          Kiefer Kalex             20 laps      Steven Odendaal       MS Suter                 20 laps      Yuki Takahashi        Gresini Moriwaki         19 laps      Pol Espargaro         Speed Up FTR             19 laps      Kenny Noyes           Avintia-STX FTR          19 laps      Xavier Simeon         Tech 3                   18 laps      Mika Kallio           Marc VDS Suter           13 laps      Axel Pons             Pons Kalex                7 laps      Ratthapark Wilairot   SAG FTR                   5 laps      Valentin Debise       Speed Up FTR              5 laps      Santiago Hernandez    SAG FTR                   3 laps      Mike di Meglio        Tech 3                    0 laps      Jules Cluzel          Forward Suter             0 laps 

MOTOGP news –

Andrea Bartolini Willy Bauer Jean Michel Bayle Pit Beirer Christian Beggi

No comments:

Post a Comment