Tuesday, June 28, 2011

Monster Energy Mammoth Motocross ? DC 450 Pro

Story and photos by Kyle Cowling

After two weeks worth of racing at the Monster Energy Mammoth Motocross DC National, it was time to crown a 450 champion and let the dust settle here in Mammoth, CA.

Today marked the final day of racing at the Monster Energy Mammoth Motocross DC National, and after two-weeks worth of racing, it was finally time to crown a 450 pro class champion. Between the likes of Justin Bogle, Ryan Hughes, Preston Tilford, Chris Plouffe and others, it was anyone?s guess as to who was going to take home the win on this final day of racing.

After a couple morning practice sessions, two qualifiers, and an LCQ, it was finally time for the gate to drop on the last race of the year at the Monster Energy Mammoth Motocross DC National, the 450 pro class. At the drop of the gate, it was Honda-mounted Chris Plouffe who captured the holeshot to lead the 40-rider field to the top of the hill. Vance & Hines? Preston Tilford ran second while Bogle was in third. Within the first lap, Bogle managed to move around both Tilford and Plouffe to take over the top spot while Hughes also found his way around Tilford to move into third place.

With three of 10 laps now in the books, Hughes got around Plouffe for second place and started setting his sights on Bogle, who was doing his best to check out. The Yamaha-backed Hughes was unable to mount a valiant charge on Bogle, who would put just over five-seconds between himself and Hughes. Meanwhile, a little further back, Jacob Hayes was putting in a great ride and managed to move his way into fourth place, however, Tilford was not going to lie down and let him have it. He would begin mounting a charge on the Kawasaki pilot in the closing stages of the moto, but would eventually fall off the pace and settle for fifth place on the day.

At the conclusion of the 450 pro main event, it was Justin Bogle who claimed yet another championship. Hughes would take home the second spot, and Chris Plouffe finished third place to round out the podium.

450 Pro

1. Justin Bogle (HON)
2. Ryan Hughes (YAM)
3. Chris Plouffe (HON)
4. Jacob Hayes (KAW)
5. Preston Tilford (YAM)

Transworld Motocross� | Transworld Motocross

Brian Myerscough Maximilian Nagl Kurt Nicoll Bill Nilsson Jorgen Nilsson

No comments:

Post a Comment