Sunday, March 27, 2011

New York Jets nominated for Professional Sports Team of the Year Award

On May 18, SportsBusiness Daily and SportsBusiness Journal will host the fourth annual Sports Business Awards in the Broadway Ballroom of the Marriott Marquis in New York City.

The 2011 Awards will recognize excellence and outstanding achievement in the business of sports from January 1, 2010 through February 28, 2011.

Nominees from 15 different categories were carefully studied over the past several weeks by the selection committee and the winners will be announced at the live awards ceremony in a little less than two months.

Launched in 2008, the Sports Business Awards were established by SportsBusiness Daily and SportsBusiness Journal to celebrate and recognize the leaders, visionaries and day-to-day practitioners who personify excellence in the business of sports.

The inaugural event took place at the Mandarin Oriental Hotel in New York City. This year marks the third consecutive year that the Marriott Marquis will be home to the Sports Business Awards.

For the second consecutive year, the Big Apple will have horses in the race for the Sports Facility of the Year Award as the New Meadowlands Stadium, home to the New York Giants and the New York Jets, and Red Bull Arena, home to Major League Soccer’s New York Red Bulls, have been nominated for the honor.

Last year, Citi Field and Yankee Stadium were nominated for the award, but were topped by the $1 billion Cowboys Stadium.

Speaking of the Jets, Gang Green, who went to their second consecutive AFC Championship Game this past season, have the opportunity to lay claim to the Professional Sports Team of the Year Award, which, if it hasn’t already, should give head coach Rex Ryan plenty to bark about during the lockout.

This year’s Sports Business Awards nominees include:

Professional Sports Team of the Year

Ganassi Racing

New York Jets

Orlando Magic

Pittsburgh Penguins

San Francisco Giants

Professional Sports League of the Year

Major League Soccer

National Basketball Association

National Football League

National Hockey League

Ultimate Fighting Championship

Sports Event of the Year

ING New York City Marathon – 2010

NBA All-Star Game – 2011

NCAA Final Four – 2010

Winter X Games – 2011

Sports Executive of the Year

George Bodenheimer, President, ESPN/ABC Sports

Chip Ganassi, Owner, Ganassi Racing

David Levy, President of Sales, Distribution and Sports, Turner Broadcasting System

Kevin Plank, Chair, CEO, Under Armour

Pat Riley, President, Miami Heat

Athletic Director of the Year

Bob Bowlsby, Stanford University

Tim Curley, Penn State University

Chris Del Conte, Texas Christian University

DeLoss Dodds, University of Texas

Chris Hill, University of Utah

Best in Sports Media

CBS Sports


Fox Sports

National Football League

Turner Sports

Best in Sports Television

ESPN Networks

Fox Sports

HBO Sports

NBC Sports

Turner Sports

Best in Digital Sports Media

CBS Interactive Media

ESPN Digital Media

MLB Advanced Media

Turner Sports

Best in Talent Representation and Management

Boras Corporation

CAA Sports



Wasserman Media Group

Best in Corporate Consulting, Marketing and Client Services

GMR Marketing

GroupM ESP



Team Epic

Wasserman Media Group

Best in Property Consulting, Sales and Client Services

AEG Global Partnerships

CAA Sports

Home Team Marketing


Best in Sports Event and Experiential Marketing

BaAM Productions

BeCore Promotions


The Marketing Arm

Momentum Worldwide


Sports Sponsor of the Year

Papa John’s

Phillips-Van Heusen


T-Mobile USA

Sports Facility of the Year

Amway Center

Arrowhead Stadium

Consol Energy Center

New Meadowlands Stadium

Red Bull Arena

Target Field

Best in Sports Technology




MLB Advanced Media

Click here to read the original article at

No comments:

Post a Comment